Skip to content

I’m a quitter

March 5, 2011

Did you know I’m an addict?  I am. 

  source

*sigh* Just looking at the picture makes me want one.

But there aren’t any in this house.

And I about fell over at the store today when I saw that a 12 pack was on sale for $4.

On sale.  Ha!

I just can’t do it.  I’m too cheap.

But trust me.  I thought about it.  Because that’s what addicts do.

And then I started thinking about how I don’t like feeling like I NEED to have a Dr. Pepper.  I don’t want that feeling to control my decisions.

Or my pocketbook. 

{I don’t have a pocketbook.  Who am I kidding.  I’m not even exactly sure what a pocketbook is.}

The point is, I’m quitting.  Today.  Right now.

And I know if I don’t tell the whole world all 5 of you, then it will never really happen.

So if you see me at church tomorrow with 50 cents in my hand, tackle me, grab the change, and go throw it in the offering plate instead of into the pop machine.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Liv Wilson permalink
    March 5, 2011 9:05 pm

    You’re funny! You can quit! Sounds like a great plan. Hrm, maybe you can inspire me to quit coke… Maybe not always but definitely not the obscene amount I have been consuming…maybe…

  2. Barbara Whipple permalink
    March 5, 2011 9:05 pm

    I have a friend you two would get along fabulously she is also addicted to Dr.Pepper!
    Where do you live Vanessa that it’s $4 on sale? I get Pepsi on sale for $2.50 (or I did till the you know what hit the fan with oil) :0(

    • March 5, 2011 9:15 pm

      well, it was at a super target and they never have the best prices. sometimes i can still get them at the locally owned grocery stores for 2.50 on sale.

  3. March 5, 2011 9:16 pm

    I’m a diet coke addict. I quit for 2 months a while back!! Like a true addict, the urge NEVER went away. I LOOOOONGED for one. So, I decided. I will ONLY have dt. cokes while eating out. I won’t buy them and keep them at home. Well, somehow I then convinced myself that stopping by sonic on the way home from errands was too acceptable. Well, I bet you can guess what happened next… Anyhow, good luck 🙂 Debbie Downer? I know 🙂

    • March 5, 2011 9:32 pm

      i thought about only having one when i was out but i knew i’d do exactly what you said!

  4. March 5, 2011 9:19 pm

    Diet Cherry Pepsi is my Dr. Pepper. It’s SO hard to quit, but I’m definitely trying to at least cut back. It adds up, I don’t want to think about what I’ve spent on it in a year’s time. Probably enough to buy something cool.

  5. Missy permalink
    March 5, 2011 9:22 pm

    Thank you for the laugh! and good luck, because I know I couldn’t do it. Drinks TONS of water! Love you! 🙂

  6. Jennifer permalink
    March 5, 2011 9:35 pm

    I have also vowed to quit buying diet dr. Pepper (I can drink them free at work). My local wal-mart has begun selling a 12 pack for 4.58 and a 24 pack for 7. Highway robbery that’s what I say, so I will no longer support the Dr.

  7. melissa permalink
    March 5, 2011 10:12 pm

    If John and I can quit our 2billion Diet Cokes a day habit, cold turkey, you can quit Dr. P.

    That being said, if I have a migraine, there is a McDonalds 0.4 miles away and they have Diet Coke, because my migraines have met their master and it is DC.

  8. Jenna permalink
    March 5, 2011 10:15 pm

    Go V go!!! You can do it! Now I want one. yummmm

  9. March 6, 2011 6:13 pm

    dr. pepper is to you what dr. pepper icees are to me. good luck. i allow myself two icees a week…it’s torture to drive past a 7-eleven and not stop. gah, if these aren’t the words of an addict then i don’t know what is!

    also, i, too, have no idea what a pocketbook is…but i am inclined to say it’s something elderly women carry. and probably comes stocked with butterscotch and sweet-n-lows.

  10. Susan Veatch permalink
    March 6, 2011 7:25 pm

    Hey Group…My name is Susan & I too am an addict…Whew! Step One complete…admitting you have a problem…unfortunately, I will probably never get past that first step 😦
    I don’t know which is better: Cold Turkey or Moderation
    Maybe I should start a fund…everytime I have a Vanilla Diet Coke I put .50 in a jar. I might be surprised how much that adds up to. The rule would be that I could spend it on anything except Diet Coke.
    Good Luck Vanessa!

  11. Kathy Clark permalink
    March 7, 2011 4:49 pm

    I two lived on Diet Coke until Jan.13,2011, It was when I was at the Doctors and he told me that I need to lose weight or I will have a heart attack or a stroke. Well I have been told that before but this time I took it serious. I have not had a diet coke since that day! And I have started my weight loss journey ( 16lbs to date) and many more to go. But I know that if I want to see my Girls and My grandson grow up I needed to do something and be serious about it. Oh I crave DIET COKE everyday but I tell myself how bad it is for me and how much money I am saving. Good luck vanessa ,you can do it:)

  12. Nedra permalink
    March 7, 2011 4:53 pm

    I don’t ever plan on quitting my diet drink habit. I probably have 4 or 5 a day. Right now Coke Zero is my favorite. As long as you enjoy it and it’s not illegal or immoral, I say why deprive yourself. Life is too short not to take advantage of some of its little pleasures. I don’t need to tell a math teacher that $4 divided by 12 = $.3333333, so don’t sweat it. Get your self a Dr. Pepper and savor the flavor.

    I keep reading that diet drinks might be bad for your health; however, I’ve been drinking them for the last 42 years and I am in better health than everyone I know in my age group.

    • Felicia H permalink
      April 13, 2011 10:30 am

      I say “in lieu of the recent events” then I am taking Nedra’s side! One thing at a time, and there are times to stress about budgeting a quitting daily habits (or lack of, like flossing 😉 which WAS my new year’s resolution until it lasted a week….maybe ill go floss right now?)

      Anyway, more power to ya and YOU can do anything. It is just keeping the drive alive! I am just going to “drink more water” and not give up caffeinated beverages, for now!

Leave a Reply

