Skip to content

In Which Her Life Flashes Before My Eyes

December 21, 2010

 

We took her to see The Nutcracker.  Her first time at the ballet, the tickets a gift from some very kind friends.  When we got in the car and I asked her what she thought I got a resounding “Great!” 

It was late and she was tired and Mom, can I PLEASE have that sucker that we got from the Pharmacy earlier?  Please?  She’d been asking me for it all night.  As I pulled out of the downtown parking lot and popped the wrapped off the lollipop, the stick fell out.  It’s fine.  She’s nearly 5. 

I navigated the downtown streets, in the dark, making my way toward the highway.  Thirty yards from the entrance ramp I heard it.  Heard her pick up her water bottle, the kind with a straw.  Heard her take a drink.  Heard her gasp and I knew.  She was choking.  Not on a piece of gum or a tic tac or even a small dum dum.  On that bigger-than-a-quarter sized sucker I’d handed her 30 seconds ago.

I can’t explain to you the terror I saw on her face as I slammed on my brakes, reached back, unbuckled her and pulled her into the front seat with me.  As panic washed over me and fear doubled my heartrate, the only thing I could think to do is what you do when they’re 5 months old, not 5 years old.  I opened my car door, leaned her over my lap so that her head was lower than her body and beat and beat on her back and nothing, and aloud Lord, please help her and beat and beat and beat and I heard it.  Heard the purple disk pop out and hit the pavement.

Jaycie, are you ok?  Baby look at me, are you ok?  Can you breathe?

Momma, my throat hurts.

No words that I could type could convey to you how terrifying those 90 seconds were.  Of all the things we’ve been through with Brock, I’ve never been as scared in my entire life.  I can’t even imagine how it would’ve played out if I’d have been 30 yards ahead and already on the highway.

New rule.  No eating in the car.  And I’m signing up for a CPR class.  Yesterday.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Jill permalink
    December 21, 2010 11:17 am

    Ohmygosh! How terrifying! Where was Jay? How terrifying! You did good. And how terrifying!

  2. Jessica permalink
    December 21, 2010 12:18 pm

    Love my JJ and so glad she is OK!

  3. Nancy permalink
    December 21, 2010 1:57 pm

    OMGOSH!!!!! I’m glad everything ended up ok. How scary.

  4. Crystal permalink
    December 21, 2010 2:03 pm

    You know what? I saw a billboard at the Oklahoma Heart Hospital where they offer a FREE CPR class to anyone…walk-ins welcome. 🙂 Go and learn my dear, sweet Vanessa. Glad you had your Mom thinking cap on. Love you!

  5. Valerie Olmstead permalink
    December 21, 2010 2:12 pm

    Oh my! Praise God you were where you were and you knew what to do. I am so glad your beautiful daughter is ok and only has a little sore throat.

  6. Lee permalink
    December 21, 2010 2:40 pm

    How very scary! Check with the red cross they usually have CPR classes. It is a very valuable tool to know. I have never had to use it on one of my kids but I have used the things I learned from the red cross first aid class I took at an accident scene 2 times.

  7. December 21, 2010 4:49 pm

    OMGOSH!! I have goosebumps!!! HOW horrible!!! Praise God your instincts told you what to do!!!! EONS ago that happened to my mom and brother. He choked on a butterscotch. She yanked him out of the car and was beating on him. TO this day is sticks with her as terrifing!!!!

    CPR will be great!!! I renew mine every year at school!!!

    Have a very blessed CHRISTmas!!!

    We have added a new link (It is right above the prayer requests) on the site for posting your own prayer request. It is great if you need us to pray and don’t have time to update your site.

    ♥♥ Love ya!! ♥♥
    C.O.L.E.’s Foundation (Caring Openly, Loving Eternally)
    http://www.colesfoundation.com
    Check it out it…a new feature for the Cole’s Foundation: http://www.colespages.org
    Sandy

    • December 21, 2010 4:51 pm

      DOUBLE DOG!!! I pasted part of another message!! I am SORRY!!!!

      I, of course, KNOW that you KNOW about Cole’s!!

      Sandy

  8. Rebecca permalink
    December 21, 2010 10:29 pm

    Wow! I can’t imagine how scared you were! I need to take a class as well. You never know when it will come in handy! Glad JJ is okay!!

  9. Angie permalink
    December 22, 2010 8:22 am

    I am so glad that she is okay. I am not sure there is anything scarier when you’re alone. You did awesome!!! Call the Oklahoma heart hospital and sign up for their free CPR training. It is not for certification, but it will give you the basics. Then, if you want to get certified you can do that too. Francis Tuttle has a good class and it is pretty cheap. Ask for Margaret Waltons class. If you get certification, you want to be certified through the American heart association and not any other organization.

Leave a Reply

