Skip to content

Thanks

November 25, 2010

I read this post tonight and loved it, because Lindsey talked about something that I try to think about every day.

Spending the day before Thanksgiving in the ER?  No big deal.  At least I live in a place where I can take my son to get health care.  Where it’s (somewhat) affordable.  Where they have the equipment and the knowledge and the facilities to run the appropriate tests safely and effectively. 

Y’all know how many ER trips we make.  I remind myself of these things a lot.

On Sunday our pastor talked about gratitude; about the Bible’s “recipe” for peace.  Everyone wants peace, right?

4 Always be full of joy in the Lord. I say it again—rejoice! 5 Let everyone see that you are considerate in all you do. Remember, the Lord is coming soon.

 6 Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. 7 Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.

Phil 4:4-7

God has definitely used the last year to teach us how to always be full of joy.  How to rejoice in every season.  Because joy doesn’t come from your situation or surroundings.  It says to be full of joy, in the Lord.  I think we’ve done a good job of not worrying, of praying about everything.  God has taught us those lessons well.  Hard lessons.

Know which part spoke to me the most?  Which part made me hang my head in humble submission and beg for God’s mercy and guidance? 

 5 Let everyone see that you are considerate in all you do. Remember, the Lord is coming soon.

NIV says “Let your gentleness be evident to all.”

Considerate gentleness.  My husband, my sister, my children – the people that know me the best – would be right in line behind me to tell you that those are no where near the top of the list of my greatest qualities.

I’m not a very emotional person.  I’m not overly compassionate. 

When I was a child my dad taught several classes at the local air force base.  One of the classes included the Myers Briggs (personality) Type Indicator.  You know the one I’m talking about, right?  I remember him bringing it home for me and my sister to do.  I was young – I don’t remember the exact results.  But I know I scored high on Thinking and Judging.

Thinking and Judging.  Sounds like the exact opposite of considerate gentleness.

And instead of letting the hardships of the last year make me a more considerate person, a more gentle person, I let it do the opposite.  I would hear people complain about how “hard” their life was and think “Please!  Let me tell you what it’s like to live in a hospital for 4.5 months straight…what it’s like to hold your child down while they insert a needle into his spine, cut a biopsy of skin from his knee, yank a chest tube from his side…how it feels to have a doctor tell you your baby is living out his final days.”  Surely, SURELY their life was not as bad as mine.  No one could have it as bad as us.

How arrogant.  How ugly!  Thankfully, mercifully, gently, God reminded me…that my life is not all that horrible.  That there are no prizes for having been dealt a tough hand, so get over myself.  That there are people, precious beautiful, hurting people, who have it far worse than I do.  The single, unemployed mother, the abused child, the neglected orphan.  There will always be someone whose life is harder than mine.  And mine will always be harder than someone else’s.  That verse says to let EVERYONE see how gentle and considerate we are – not just the people who are hurting and struggling more than we are.

So as I think about all of the things I’m thankful for this year, I’m praying also that God will make me a gentler, kinder, more considerate person.

(Abrupt ending?  Yes.  But it’s because my son refuses to go to sleep and Jay just informed me that it’s my turn.)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Barbara & Danny permalink
    November 25, 2010 11:55 pm

    AMEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Melanie permalink
    November 26, 2010 8:19 am

    Beautifully written. This makes me cry. I want to be know for being considerate as well. Similar verse, that I have been trying to appy Col 3:12 Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience. Hmm, what if each morning when we got dressed we practiced clothing ourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience?

  3. Jessica permalink
    November 26, 2010 9:18 am

    luv it. Even I have let this last year hardened me. Thanks for posting this. I needed to read this.
    love you, sister

  4. November 26, 2010 12:29 pm

    Oh man, this just spoke to me. I too have struggled with being compassionate. So today I am going to try to focus on letting my gentleness be more evident. Deep breath. Now moving forward in a new direction. 🙂

  5. Angie permalink
    November 26, 2010 11:40 pm

    I love you my dear cousin, I pray for you often and think of the same things as you do here. Sometimes life is all about perspective. We all have situations we deal with, thank God for the Faith to guide us through!

Leave a Reply

