Skip to content

Dear B,

November 9, 2010

You’re 2 years old.  Blessedly, wonderfully, surprisingly 2 years old.

You won’t eat a thing.  But you love to pretend to eat and you love to make us eat.  Seriously, son.  You can quit shoving food in my mouth any day now.

You’ve grown and developed and changed so much in the last 6 months. 

You can talk!  You call me MaMa…which is also what you call Daddy and Sissy and Grammie, but that’s ok.  I love when you say “uh oh.”  It sounds so perfect and clear and big-boy-ish.  Car, ball, go, up, down.  I’m so proud.

Whenever I tell you I need to hook up your “tube-y” (to feed you or give you medicine) you lift up your shirt and point to your g-button.

You want to push the meds through the tube yourself.

You love to play at the train table and sit down and stand up over and over and over and over again.  And you said “up” and “down” with each change.

You love your sister so much and want to be doing whatever she’s doing. 

You’re daddy’s boy.  Tonight we asked you who you wanted to put you to bed and you said ‘mama’ but pointed to daddy.  (see above)

When we go for doctors visits you show the nurses which leg you want the blood pressure cuff on.

You blow them kisses when we leave.

You give me real kisses with real kissy sounds and it melts my heart. 

You’re such a big boy and I’m so proud of you and I love you so much.

Love,
“MaMa”

DSC_0192

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Tanni permalink
    November 9, 2010 11:09 pm

    PRECIOUS, Vanessa!

  2. Nicole permalink
    November 9, 2010 11:13 pm

    That is precious, Vanessa!

  3. November 9, 2010 11:17 pm

    So sweet. He’s lucky to have you as his “MaMa”.

  4. Keren permalink
    November 10, 2010 5:19 am

    You and your whole family are amazing, V.

  5. Jill permalink
    November 10, 2010 5:33 am

    Be still my heart. Love love love it.

  6. Jean Fraley permalink
    November 10, 2010 9:08 am

    Vanessa,

    This is Alyssa’s mom. Your letter to Brock is precious. Some of the people in my Sunday School class would like to follow your info on Brock. My Sunday School teacher is Bob Whitaker. He lost his grandson, Mitchell, to leukemia. You may have met John and Tracy Whitaker recently, I’m not sure. Would you please explain to me how they can get to your website. Thanks. Love in Christ, Jean Fraley

  7. Mandy Wall permalink
    November 10, 2010 9:54 am

    Okay, I’m wiping the tears from my face. So Sweet. 🙂

  8. Susan permalink
    November 10, 2010 6:13 pm

    Vanessa,
    Such a sweet letter…it melted my heart & reminds me that we should never take for granted those precious moments that God gives us. Love you and praying for many, many more “MaMa” memories.

  9. Alyssa permalink
    November 10, 2010 7:23 pm

    That was beautiful!

  10. Pam Jackson permalink
    November 10, 2010 10:18 pm

    Oh wow that blew me away–you and Jay are awesome parents–And what sweet precious children. God Blessed Jaycee and Brock to the best parents. Bless your whole family.

Trackbacks

  1. Dear B, « He Gives Hope

Leave a Reply

