Skip to content

Full Disclosure

March 18, 2010

It is SO much easier to blog here when we’re inpatient than when we’re at home.  In the hospital, all I have to do is love on Brock, change his diapers, and play on the computer while he naps.  At home…well at home there’s clearly more to do than that.  Like take care of this…

DSC_0362

And this….

DSC_0365

This is what my kitchen/living room look like on a regular basis.  I am working SO HARD to change my habits so that it doesn’t stay like this, and I figured if I posted the pictures here for the whole world all 5 of you to see, then it might motivate me to actually follow through.  So consider these the before pictures.  ‘After’ pictures coming very soon.  And then I’ll work my way through the rest of the house (because don’t think for a second that it’s only my kitchen and living room that look like this).

By the way, this book and this blog have been my inspiration to try to live like a normal person.  You know, someone with a clean house.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. Nicole suiter permalink
    March 18, 2010 9:22 pm

    Vanessa,
    I’m not even sure what “normal” is anymore. I know this, you’re a dedicated mother to your kids. Maybe some of us should learn to clean a little less and play a little more! Time is precious, right?

  2. Barbara Whipple permalink
    March 18, 2010 9:32 pm

    I don’t want to shock you, I’m a grandparent now and my house looked like that frequently, you are not supposed to have “House Beautiful” when you are a parent, never mind a parent with a child fighting cancer!
    Enjoy Brock, what I used to do was make an effort after they were in bed and if we had company coming, also we let there room look lie what ever so they could have a place to play we just shut the door!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Glad you are making the effort, we will look forward to “After pictures” (just shut the door to Brock’s room 😉

  3. Susan Veatch permalink
    March 18, 2010 9:39 pm

    uh…oh Vanessa…if a clean house is a sign of being “normal” …I’m in big trouble. I always say “It’s not dust…it’s a protective coating.”

    My only words of advice are not to be overwhelmed…take it one section at a time and if you need some help, just call. For some strange reason I’m better at cleaning someone else’s home than I am my own 🙂

    So happy Brock is home… it’s ok to let things go and keep on loving on the kids…housework really can wait.
    Continuing to pray for you all. Love you.

  4. Pam Jackson permalink
    March 18, 2010 9:45 pm

    Its hard to keep a clean house when you have to take care of a sick little boy. And have a beautiful little girl (Jaycee) that needs your attention when you have a free moment from taking care of Brock. Don’t be so hard on yourself. Housework will always be there. Just LOVE on your two precious babies.

  5. soonerhawkeye permalink
    March 18, 2010 10:44 pm

    Girl. Seriously. I’ll post pictures of our apartment tomorrow to reassure you you’re not alone. Our natural state is quite similar. I had a break down before Katie was born and freaked out to Eric, yelling that DHS would take our kid away if they saw the normal state of our house (we had a blizzard later that night that knocked out our power and we were just lucky that I had managed to clear a path through the living room in time or we would have died from tripping on something walking through our house in the dark…).

    When I’m writing papers it gets particularly bad. And when I’m writing papers, I realize that housecleaning is a distraction and now won’t let myself worry about it.

    • March 19, 2010 8:07 am

      oh i’ve TOTALLY had that thought too – that dhs would take away my kids if they saw the state of my house. it is good to know i’m not alone though. you know – misery, company, etc.

  6. Melanie Stevens permalink
    March 19, 2010 6:41 am

    You are amazing. Some things will come together and stay clean and organized, but even if your house was spotless of clutter and dust it will feel like a mess with all of your medical stuff. Clean what/when you can. There is nothing wrong with a clean house, just know it isnt the most important thing.

    Enjoy your time at home. Clean just one little thing at a time and it will add up… an end table, the kitchen bar, crayons, etc.

  7. Alyssa permalink
    March 19, 2010 7:37 am

    Girl! I think a cluttered house when you have 2 kids IS normal!! (At least that is what I tell myself) 😉 What I can tell about you from your pics is that you are a mom of 2 precious babies! You love them more than anything and want to spend precious time with them. Those kids are blessed to have parents/family/friends that buy them awesome toys to play with! The way I see it, you are blessed to have the “clutter” 😉 Again, this is what I tell myself. Trust me though, you are not alone! I spent the last 2 days (kids at grandparents house) cleaning. To me, my house looks AMAZING now, even though I have a LONG way to get where I want to be. Enjoy those babies! I’m off to pick mine up, which means so long to my “clean” living room/kitchen! =)

  8. Jill Fritts permalink
    March 19, 2010 1:40 pm

    A clean house is the sign of a boring person. 🙂

  9. Jessica Benton permalink
    March 19, 2010 3:11 pm

    Cant believe Jay let you post pics lol

  10. March 19, 2010 6:42 pm

    I know the “I don’t even know where to start” thought you have when you feel overwhelmed about cleaning. I have this thought often and so I just do nothing and go to bed thinking I will just tackle the mess tomorrow. Sometimes, if I just do something small, like clean the kitchen sink, it at least gets the ball rolling and it somehow makes me feel like I can do more. Even if it is just emptying the dishwasher.

    Regardless, I do think I get caught up in the cleaning/organizing and have to refocus on what is most important. Twenty years from now, my kids won’t remember what their kitchen looked like, but they will remember spending time with their mom. It’s a balancing act. One I’m still figuring out too!

    • March 19, 2010 7:31 pm

      i’ve actually read some stuff that says that a lot of “perfectionists” have really messy homes because they don’t know where to start, or because they can clean just a little bit at a time. it has to be all or nothing. interesting theory.

  11. March 19, 2010 8:50 pm

    If you only knew how much your house resembles my house you would laugh! I also struggle with messy problems. I live in a house with 3 men(2 sons and a husband) who are not bothered one little tiny bit by the mess…this makes it that much harder for me to keep a clean house. Sometimes I want to laugh hysterically when I hear others talk about the “mess” that is their house…they should see mine! I can usually manage my bedroom, but the rest of the house is a casualty of the men in my life. Maybe we can form a support group…I definitely need help!

  12. melissa permalink
    March 19, 2010 9:28 pm

    There is a reason I rarely post pictures of J on my FB page… =). And there is only one of her. (I just watched John sort through papers on his desk and stack the ones that need to be trashed on the bookshelf. So two weeks from now when I have a nesting fit, I’m going to see that and resist the urge to throw them at him.)

  13. Amy Howell permalink
    March 20, 2010 3:59 pm

    Has Jason seen this yet? hahaha! I just laughed when I saw this because this is my daily life. I can’t seem to keep it together. I never know where to start or what to do-overwhelmed. It doesn’t help that the kids follow like little tornadoes and pull out/mess up everything I just did. My house drives me insane. I’m already beating myself my up bc I’ve been home for spring break and only got the kitchen and bathroom done-which of course now looks like I’ve done nothing. A family member said to me the other day they had to go home and clean bc they hadn’t done it in a month and I had to keep the eyeroll to myself. (Her house is spotless with no children.) Anyway, your posting made me feel better. I think we are the normal! Too bad there isn’t a way for all of us to post our messes. We could start an AA group. 🙂

  14. Missy permalink
    March 23, 2010 10:16 pm

    I was gonna say pretty much everything everyone else did! Normal with 2 kids HAS to be messy. I feel like I clean 24/7 with the one I have (and I HAVE that time b/c I am a BORED person!) My house was cleaned once on Saturdays when I was teaching. That is also when laundry was done. I feel like I just moved in last week – there is stuff everywhere – and it was 6 months ago (I think that fits into the perfectionist thing you were talking about. Everything MUST have a place, so until it finds one, it’s going to sit in the corner, in a box, on the bed, under the bed, in the 4 laundry baskets crammed with junk piled in the extra bedroom, you get the point. 🙂 You are certainly not alone, but I understand your frustration. Take it one day at a time, honey. It will get there. Maybe not this week, but it will.

  15. Missy permalink
    March 23, 2010 10:16 pm

    OH! And there’s totally more than 5 of us that read your blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

