Skip to content

That’s for sure.

February 6, 2010

Jaycie pays attention to everything.  She hears things and remembers them.  Forever.  She’s also quite good at making up songs.  I heard her singing one in the car the other day about “bone marrow.”  Oy.

Some of the things/phrases she hears she picks up and keeps for her own.  A lot of them come from her dad.  Like “No way, Jose’.”

Jaycie, do you want to go play in the snow?
-No way, Jose’!  It’s too cold for that!

Others she picks up from friends and family.  Like “No sir.”

Momma, Brother has a dirty diaper.  But I’m not changing it.  No sir, no sir, no sir.”

The latest catchphrase she stole from one of Brock’s nurses.  “That’s for sure.”  She tacks it on to the end of everything. 

If (younger cousin) talks sassy, then she’ll get in trouble.  That’s for sure.
-Four year olds still have to take a nap.  That’s for sure.
-When it gets warmer outside I’m going to play soccer like (older cousins).  That’s for sure.

This whole experience with Brock has also made her more aware of death and dying and naturally, she has lots of questions about it.  About a week ago one of the conversations went like this…

J: who just called on the phone, momma?
me: my friend, C.
J: is she the one with the little boy that I played with?
me: yep, that’s her.
J: is that little boy going to die? 
me: I don’t think so, honey.
J: why?
me: well, because most people don’t die until they’re really old.
J: *pauses to think* well, Granny’s really old.  She’s gonna die soon, that’s for sure.

I laughed on the inside and then said a silent prayer that she nevers repeats that in front of Granny.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Melanie permalink
    February 6, 2010 11:41 am

    That is precious. When I wouldn’t take Macie to a funeral when she was very young, she said: Well, when I am nine can I go to Granny’s funeral. (I am happy to say Granny is alive and well and Macie is 11 now.)

  2. Missy permalink
    February 6, 2010 7:11 pm

    Finally figured out who the “that’s for sure!” was coming from!

  3. Alyssa permalink
    February 6, 2010 10:11 pm

    Oh Vanessa! I love it and can totally relate. I’ve said many silent prayers in hopes that Hallie will not repeat some of our conversations! It sounds like Jaycie and Hallie would get along great….THATS FOR SURE!

  4. MammaSissy permalink
    February 7, 2010 2:29 pm

    Jaycie makes me laugh. Thats for sure!

  5. Jennifer permalink
    February 8, 2010 2:41 pm

    ♥ IT!! She is just so cute!

  6. February 16, 2010 8:37 am

    oh, wow. that last line she said about granny caused me to laugh so loud i snorted.

Leave a Reply

