Skip to content

unDomestic

February 5, 2010

So the word on the street…er, the hem/onc floor…is that Brock might get to come home next week.  Come home!  Next week! 

I really can’t even fathom this.  Today is exactly 4 months from the day that I realized something was really wrong with him.  Tonight will be exactly 4 months from the night that I googled “tiny red pin prick dots” and came up with this link that all but told me my son had leukemia.  Brock hasn’t been home since then.  It’s so weird to picture him coming home.  No matter how hard I try I can’t imagine what it will be like.

Also?  No matter how hard I try I can’t seem to get my house clean enough for his arrival.  I am the world’s worst house-cleaner.  Ever.  I need help!  How do other people do it??  Is there some magic routine I don’t know about?  Do laundry on Mondays.  Clean toilets on Thursdays.  I’m not sure it would help me.  Laundry and toilets I can do.  It’s getting a handle on all of the clutter everywhere that I can’t seem to manage.  I would post pictures for you if I weren’t afraid that Jay would burn the house down and move us out of the state due to his embarassment.  I constantly feel like we’re only a few steps below ending up on an episode of Hoarders.

So yeah, we’re bringing Brock home next week (God willing).  And I’m praying he doesn’t get lost in all of the junk.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. Lindsay permalink
    February 5, 2010 2:55 pm

    Yay!!! I have been following your journey with Brock and am forever grateful that he has continued to respond well to treatment and now to hear……HOME!! It’s so exciting!!!

    I totally feel your pain on the clutter issue….my house is the same. I have found some really neat tricks on Home Made Simple’s website……15 minutes to sort/toss/file…..it works like a charm!!!

    Good luck and we’re praying for Brock to continue on his journey to good health!!

  2. Jill Fritts permalink
    February 5, 2010 3:09 pm

    Oh girl, you actually made me bark out loud laughing with that last sentence about Brock getting lost in the junk. I can just picture him like E.T. sitting in a closet with all the stuffed animals and toys and your dog. So funny. Not that your sweet baby reminds me of an extra-terrestrial in any way! lol. I’ll stop now.

    As for how we manage the clutter and cleaning in our house…we hired a housekeeper! With two working parents and two children under 4, it was absolutely impossible to stay on top of the cleaning. Especially when we both feel like weekends are the only time we really have to “enjoy” our children and aren’t running them to and from school, errands, the doctor, trying to cram food down our / their throats, etc. So, I just broke down and hired someone. They come once a week for less than 100 a week and they are in the house about 2 hours. They do everything but the laundry. I would hire someone to do that if I wasn’t so OCD about my clothing. That’s another story entirely 🙂

    • February 5, 2010 9:40 pm

      when i was typing this i was thinking “how do families with both parents working manage to have such clean houses??!!” i’d love to hire someone but i think it might make me feel like the Worst Stay at Home Mom Ever.

  3. Amy Howell permalink
    February 5, 2010 3:23 pm

    I am glad no one ever really comes to my house for the very same reason. Can’t ever seem to get it together-maybe others are the same way just no one admits their “dirty/cluttered” secret. 😉
    it is hard to not beat ourselves up for not being perfect in all areas as women. CAnt wait for you to bring your baby home.

  4. Shannon permalink
    February 5, 2010 5:24 pm

    One thing I don’t like about Oklahoma is they don’t have basements here. I was raised in Kansas, and everyone had a basement. It was great for storing excess “things.” Since I’ve lived in Texas(where there also is no basements) & Oklahoma I have had to learn to part with my “stuff” if I haven’t worn it or used it in over 6 months. I do, however, keep special things the kids have made over the years, & special awards, etc they get from school & extracurricular activities. I would have a lot more things if I had the room, though! Our attic space is definitely well used! Good luck, maybe you can enlist family, etc. to help you go through things! I am so happy that Brock is getting to go home! He looked wonderful in his picture today, great color & everything!

  5. kathy blackburn permalink
    February 5, 2010 6:25 pm

    Clutter is ok. My goodness, you have spent the last 4 months at the hospital helping your son fight for his life.
    Though it is hard for someone else to come into your house and clean clutter, maybe they could help you resume a sense of order.
    I do not have a sick child, but my house seems to be a continuous clutter too.
    I do hope that Brock gets to go home next week and your family can fine the new normal for your lives.
    God Bless you and your family.

  6. Alicia permalink
    February 5, 2010 7:44 pm

    How awesome and wonderful and incredible that Brock might finally get to come home!!! Can you tell that I’m so excited for you?
    As far as the cleaning thing goes, just make yourself do a little each day and try to clean as you go (ie the shower, the bathroom counters, the kitchen) For example, I take like 2 mins at the end of my shower to spray and wipe the walls and floor before I get out, which makes ‘deep’ cleaning go so much faster.
    Oh, and when it comes to dealing with our clutter- I went paperless for all of our bills that I could, and keep a basket on the hall table for mail that I don’t have time to sort. Best thing I could have done. Now I don’t have random stacks of paper everywhere. And I seperated Alex’s toys into several differnt buckets and I only give him one bucket at a time (cuts down on the number of toys I have to pick up at the end of the day). Plus, when I rotate buckets, he doesn’t get as bored with his toys since they seem new again every few weeks. Good luck!

    • Alicia permalink
      February 5, 2010 9:17 pm

      Oh, and one more thing I recently started doing is restricting what rooms our dogs are allowed in (they aren’t allowed in the bedrooms, for instance). It has cut down on my cleaning time immensely-I never realized how much time I spend cleaning bc of them. (Sorry, in case you can’t tell, I’m some sort of anal cleaning freak 🙂 )

      • February 5, 2010 9:38 pm

        don’t be sorry! it’s those kinds of tips that i need to hear.

  7. Missy permalink
    February 5, 2010 8:31 pm

    As for the clutter, take it ONE step at a time. It won’t go away in a day. Get your house clean and that stuff can wait, seriously. If it’s kid stuff, JBF? Something else, a garage sale for summer? And hey, storage units are pretty cheap, trust me. 🙂 Get yourself some Clorox Anywhere spray to use on their toys and who cares if they are in the floor. Your baby is going to be HOME to play with them!!! And let me tell you, that thought brings tears to my eyes!

  8. Melanie permalink
    February 6, 2010 6:46 am

    My recommendation is to get some large rubbermaid tubs. Put all your Medical stuff, papers, etc in it-then you can go back through it later. That would probably make things better in a hurry. Then throw away, throw away, throw away. You don’t need to keep every scrap of paper your child has colored on. Keep a handful of priceless things and the rest get thrown away, remember they will still provide you with an endless supply of artwork between now and when they grow up. For about the last two years, I have been throwing away almost every catalog I receive as soon as it comes in the mail. I would love to look at them all, but there just isn’t time or space for them. The same with newspapers, magazines, anything in print. If it is something you think you just must keep, put it in another tub and you can go back through it later. Then throw away some more.
    Get in the habit of throwing things away as soon as they come in the house if it isnt something essential to your family. This is hard because you are breaking a habit, but once you start throwing away immendiately, you find you have less clutter to deal with too.
    At the end of the day, it doesn’t matter what anyone else thinks of you, you are doing a great job taking care of your children. If you hire someone to come in and help you with this it will be money well spent. Being a caretaker of a sick child is a full time job, you will definitely NOT be the worst stay at home mom ever.
    I am asking God to provide you with direction and insight as you begin this taks.

  9. Heather permalink
    February 6, 2010 5:42 pm

    I thought I was alone in the world of Messies! I am happy to know that others struggle with the same things I struggle with. A few months ago my husband and I were driving along in the car and what was on the radio caught my attention. It was a lady talking about Messies. She might as well have said hello Heather I am talking to you! She talked about my house keeping troubles. Maybe you can find some helpful hints on her website. I am going to have to tackle my house too. We will have to keep each other updated 🙂 Here is the website:
    http://www.messies.com/ I am a messie and I am trying to change my housekeeping ways! By the way great news about the home coming! I will continue to pray for your little guy!

  10. February 6, 2010 6:12 pm

    I have to say that it makes me feel a little better to know that others have the house keeping problems! I heard a radio sermon (The lady may as well have said Hey Heather I am talking to you!!!) about this problem a few months ago. It appears that we have a name We Are Messies! There is hope for us, but we need help! There is a website with ideas to help. I am definitely going to try to change my ways! Maybe we can be each others support system. Whatever helps! Here is the website http://www.messies.com. Maybe it will help! I am super excited that the little guy might get to come home. I will continue to pray!

  11. February 6, 2010 8:56 pm

    thanks, heather! i’ll have to look at it.

    i’ve read this book and it has EXCELLENT ideas. i just haven’t had the time to actually implement them. http://www.mindystarnsclark.com/house.php
    and here is her blog about it: http://www.thehousethatcleansitself.com/

  12. Heather permalink
    February 6, 2010 9:57 pm

    Thanks for the link. I will definitely check it out. My biggest obstacle is that I live with 3 other people who don’t really seem to mind the clutter. I am going to have to crack the whip or whine or holler or beg or cry. I am not sure which route to take, but I am not going to let them discourage me! I will get better! I will work on it! 🙂

  13. Angie permalink
    February 7, 2010 1:42 pm

    So glad to hear about Brock!! Believe me you are not the only one dealing with clutter… K and I deal with it all the time we both swear it was never a problem when we were single. I just blame the kid. 🙂 I’ll have to look at the messie website. I could use some tips. For now enjoy having Brock at home. I’m sure you have friends close by that can lend a helping hand if not take it one day at a time and prioritize. I love you cuz, and will continue to pray for Brock and the family!

  14. Jennifer permalink
    February 8, 2010 2:55 pm

    God is so good!! I am so happy to hear that Brock may get to go home soon. I am sure it brings mixed feelings, but I know that you guys will do great and he will be so cared for!

    I definitely relate to your blog and the clutter issue. I guess I was born a “pack-rat” (the phrase my grandma uses). I am way too sentimental and like to hang onto to everything too. One way I have tried to deal with this is by taking a picture of the item, (pictures take up way less room, in fact they are all stored on my computer, so really no room at all) I actually don’t like having people over at my house b/c of the clutter! (I had some clutter before the baby, but now, it is out of control!) Luckily, I have an extra bedroom and just put all of the extra stuff, that I have to have and can’t get rid of in there. I guess for me, it just feels so overwhelming that you don’t even know where to begin.
    I don’t know how any mom can keep up with their house with small kiddos.. so I am just trying to remember that my time is precious and to spend it where it really matters. For me that is time with my baby. So I will just have to try and do one thing at a time and take it one day at a time..
    I will definitely check out those blogs. Thanks for posting them & sharing with us!

  15. soonerhawkeye permalink
    February 15, 2010 10:49 pm

    I am 1) so glad that Brock will be coming home soon (I’m aware things have changed a little since you wrote this) and 2) LAUGHING because I am absolutely famous for being messy. What’s worse, my husband’s house in college is legendary because it was so disgustingly dirty (there is a difference between dirty and messy). What a pair he and I are; I only worry about cleaning when company comes over. Anyways, I’m with you on the “Am I actually a Hoarder?” thing…but you’ll be fine. You’ll get the dirt; the clutter won’t harm anything. Besides, I don’t know clutter can be cured…but if you figure that out, please share it with me (you should so see my dining room table right now).

  16. Jenn McRae permalink
    February 22, 2010 9:24 pm

    Hey…this is the best cleaning website that I have EVER found!!!

    http://www.flylady.net/pages/begin_babysteps.asp

    • February 22, 2010 9:47 pm

      yeah, i’ve tried flylady before. it doesn’t work for me. 1 – my sink is impossible to clean. 2 – i never get dressed all the way to shoes that lace up. 😉

Leave a Reply

