Skip to content

Perspective

January 15, 2010

I’ve said before that living in the hospital is either all excitement or all boredom.  Lately, thankfully, we’ve been mostly on the boredom end of things.  Little Man still sleeps a lot of the day so I spend a lot of time reading (Shades of Blue, by Karen Kingsbury right now) or wasting time on the internet.  I don’t, however, spend a lot of time watching tv….

Yesterday Little Man had another setback.  Pneumonia in his right lung.  The one that has been the “good lung” through all of his breathing problems the last couple of months.  I was mad.  And upset and worried.  I was ticked that God had given us another setback.  I was angry that he was fighting 4 major battles now (leukemia, fungal infection, bacterial infection, pneumonia).

And then I turned the tv on.  I knew what had happened in Haiti – I live in the hospital, not under a rock.  But this was the first time I’d turned the tv on and seen the pictures…heard the statistics.  Did you know that there are only 2.5 doctors per 10,000 people in Haiti?  It’s a statistic so staggering that I can’t even wrap my mind around it…much less my heart.

And I was so humbled.  So repentent of the fact that I was so upset about B’s setback.  He’s in a hospital in one of the best countries in the world, with more than enough doctors and nurses and medicine so that he has every possible chance of surviving.  I cannot even begin to imagine the hell that the people of Haiti are living in.  So I prayed…and asked forgivness for my horrible attitude…and asked for peace and mercy and healing and hope for the people of Haiti.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Shannon permalink
    January 15, 2010 10:59 pm

    Vanessa, every time I read your blogs I am humbled by your strength & faith. You are allowed anger, but it doesn’t last & you get right back to talking to our Father again. I read J’s update today, things sounded much better today, flirting with the pretty girls! I am still praying, praying for that day when you can take that beautiful boy home, and enjoy the”normal” life again. Blessings to you all!

  2. January 16, 2010 7:32 am

    And, when I get stressed and upset about my girls getting another ear infection or when I’m tired because one or both girls wakes up in the middle of the night or when I am irritated because I didn’t get to go on a run because B was at work late…I think of YOU and BROCK and it puts my situation into perspective. ~hugs~

  3. January 19, 2010 10:23 pm

    Beautifully said. My heart just about can’t take it when I see the images from Haiti. Especially images of the children.

Leave a Reply

