Skip to content

Things I Love

January 7, 2010

1.  Karen Kingsbury books.  Particularly the Redemption series.  I’m in love with the Baxter family.  I want my marriage to be like John and Elizabeth’s when I’m old.

.

2.  Weight Watchers.  Yep.  Love it.  It’s an excellent program that helped me lose about 20 pounds after B was born.  I love going to the meetings (mostly because I love the meeting leader – who I know from church).

.

3.  Clinique 3-Step.  I’ve used Clinique since I started wearing make up in the 6th grade.  I love it so much I worked for the company for a brief time.

.

4.  Cloth Diapers.  We didn’t use cloth diapers with JJ but we did with B.  They are so much easier and less disgusting than I thought they’d be.  We used BumGenius 3.0 or Prefolds and Covers.  I really can’t pick which one I like best.  I loved having the variety.  Other things I love: not having to spend money on disposables and not feeling gulty about throwing yucky diapers into a landfill.

.

5.  The Dreamer jeans from Old Navy.  Love the fit.  Love the color.  Love the way the cut and rise hides my mommy belly.  Love the way they look with flats.  Love. Them.

26 Comments leave one →
  1. Barbara permalink
    January 7, 2010 9:59 pm

    I sure hope the jeans you like don’t cost what the ones Oprah likes cost!

  2. Melanie permalink
    January 8, 2010 6:28 am

    I love Karen Kingsbury books. They break my heart and teach me so much. Ashley is my favorite Baxter. Wow, the journey she took.

    • January 8, 2010 6:14 pm

      ashley is my favorite baxter too. i almost typed ‘i want to have a love like ashley and landon’s’

  3. Jennbenn permalink
    January 8, 2010 7:52 am

    I love, love Clinique too & yay for the brief time at Clinique, it was fun! 🙂

  4. Mary Gubser permalink
    January 8, 2010 8:30 am

    There r so many wonderful things on this earth to be thankful for. Life is good!

  5. Mary Gubser permalink
    January 8, 2010 8:31 am

    Ok, I am going to try these jeans. I too, can’t spend $100’s of $$’s on jeans. It is nuts!!!!!

  6. Jill Fritts permalink
    January 8, 2010 1:10 pm

    Oooh, can I play? My five things are (1) Red Velvet Cupcakes from J. Dorian Chocolatier in Dallas; (2) heated car seats; (3) XM Satellite Radio; (4) my NIV Life Application Study Bible and (5) “real” Coke – not that sissy Diet kind 🙂 Hope your day is getting better…we had a bout with the stomach bug at our house too and thankfully it only lasts about 12 hours.

  7. Connie permalink
    January 8, 2010 2:49 pm

    V, is that really you in those jeans? WOW! Way to go, girl!

  8. MammaSissy permalink
    January 9, 2010 9:48 am

    I think im goin to read the Redemtion series again, i know you hate to read books twice but i dont thnk it bothers me….we will see.

  9. Heather permalink
    January 9, 2010 1:35 pm

    I guess I should read these books. I don’t have much time to read right now, but when soccer season starts I will be sitting in the car for several hours a week. Maybe I can read them then 🙂

    • January 9, 2010 3:14 pm

      i never had time to read when i was teaching!

      • January 9, 2010 8:17 pm

        Teaching does take up A LOT of my time, but I love it anyway! I am practicing making time for me. I hope I can find some 🙂

      • January 9, 2010 8:19 pm

        Oh by the way, you starting a blog inspired me to try to start one too. Hence the name change. I am now prekworld instead of Heather. I am going to try to update it and keep up. 🙂

      • January 10, 2010 8:20 am

        yay!

  10. January 9, 2010 2:58 pm

    I am looking for some good post-baby jeans, so I’ll have to check these out. Hiding the “mommy tummy” is an important thing! And I am always up for a new book series. The last good one I read was the “Lake Emily” series by Traci Depree.
    Oh and Twilight, but I thought that brooding young vampires made for just an ok book (I know some people would say I’m crazy for that!).

  11. January 9, 2010 5:31 pm

    i LOVE stacys pita chips. delicious! i love that you love weight watchers. 🙂 me too. it helped me lose about 12 pounds that i gained while training for the race. i’m starting back monday…we’ll see how it goes. want to know a secret? the only part i hate about it is the MATH. the stupid figuring and adding of points.

  12. January 10, 2010 11:12 pm

    Is the Karen Kingsbury books a Christian series? I’ve been looking for good Christian books, and I can’t seem to find much.
    And lol, it’s the first time I’ve heard someone say they love Weight Watchers. Glad it worked well for you, though!

    • January 11, 2010 12:04 pm

      really?? i know several people that love weight watchers.

      yep, karen kingsbury is a Christian author.

  13. January 11, 2010 1:44 pm

    and i know this has nothing to do with anything on this blog post but i just saw brock’s caringbridge site and you look BEAUTIFUL in the photo on the front page. i mean, you are always so lovely but that photo made me gasp. and i know i always love to hear that i am pretty – so there you go. such a pretty mama you are.

  14. Heather permalink
    March 22, 2010 9:07 pm

    Okay, I found one of Karen Kingsbury’s books, and I could not put it down. I found myself laughing and crying and cheering the family on. I REALLY enjoyed it. I just finished. Spring break provided me some “me” time to read. I must find another of her books!
    (I read A Time to Dance and A Time to Embrace.)

    • March 23, 2010 9:16 am

      i know! aren’t they great?! i’m so glad you liked them. the first book i read of hers was ‘redemption.’ it’s the first in a series about the baxter family. i fell in love with that family!

Leave a Reply

