Skip to content

Call me Mrs. Knit Knots

January 5, 2010

I took a knitting class last year.  I’m not sure why.  Maybe because I have a friend that has knitted some cute stuff for my kids and I wanted to be able to do it too. 

So I started a scarf during that class.  A big, chunky, hip scarf that I’m not sure if I’ll ever finish because I didn’t buy enough yarn at the time and apparently one of the rules of knitting is that you have to buy all of your yarn at once so you can make sure it’s from the same dye lot so that your big, chunky, hip scarf doesn’t end up two slightly different shades of green.  Or something like that.  (Huh.  I just re-read that and it kind of sounds like I’m talking about a scarf for your hips.  A hip scarf.  I’m not.  I meant a scarf for your neck that is hip.  Rad.  Cool.)

So I put the scarf on hold and thought I’d just practice my skills with some really simple, quick to knit, dishcloths.  Quick to knit, in theory.  The problem is I want it to be perfect (I know, I know…it’s just a dishcloth).  But somehow I make mistakes and add an extra stitch and the math part of my brain can’t handle it!  What do you do when you get to the next row and you have a pattern to follow that calls for 44 stitches but you have 45 little loops to stitch on to?!  Also, I’m not good enough at knitting to be able to undo my work to the point of mistake and go from there.  So what happens?  Invariably I knit a few rows, make a mistake, pull the whole thing out and start over from the beginning.  I’ve started this darn dishcloth 5 times and never gotten more than 3-4 rows into it before I start over again.

Do you knit?  Sew?  Decoupage?  Do anything crafty?  Do you keep going after a mistake or do you start over?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Alyssa permalink
    January 5, 2010 1:52 pm

    I look at you starting over as a good thing. I applaud you for starting over!!! I get so frustrated when I make mistakes that I put it down and find something else to do! I need a some of your determination! I have many unfinished projects that I should get back to…eh, maybe tomorrow =)

  2. January 5, 2010 2:47 pm

    Vanessa, I am the same way. When I do anything crafty such as fall shirts for the girls, I try to make it perfect and then have to attempt to correct every mistake. When I made my curtains in my living room, I had to restitch one panel about 5 times to make it look right to me.

  3. January 5, 2010 3:17 pm

    I am hopelessly uncrafty. I only wish I could sew or knit. It would give me something to do when I’m waiting: waiting during gymnastics class, waiting at a doctor’s appointment, waiting to pick my girls up from school, etc. If I knew how to knit, I could at least be productive during those times!

    • January 5, 2010 4:05 pm

      that’s part of why i wanted to learn! i would knit during jaycie’s gymnastics class. and of course, there’s all the time in the world to knit while i sit at the hospital with B.

  4. Alicia permalink
    January 5, 2010 4:44 pm

    I sew and crochet and one thing I’ve learned is there’s a good chance you are the only one who knows (or probably cares) that there’s a mistake. Let’s just say that both sewing and crocheting challenge me to let go of my ‘perfectionist-like’ tendencies… which is probably a good thing 🙂

  5. fritz permalink
    January 5, 2010 7:16 pm

    there are no mistakes in crafting those are happy circumstances. You just make it part of your project.

  6. January 5, 2010 8:20 pm

    this is exactly why i do nothing crafty of the sort…i mess up, have to start over then get frustrated and usually end up throwing something!

    i love the idea of knitting though…creating something soft and beautiful and think of all that spare time you could feel knitting! then i think of all the small children who might get in the way of me throwing my knitting across the room.

  7. Rita permalink
    January 5, 2010 9:06 pm

    Alicia-you are SO right. When a mistake is made, you are probably the only one that will ever notice (and the only one it will irritate!!).

    Vanessa-you are entertaining me as well as making me look inward…..looking forward to your next entry.

  8. kelly permalink
    February 7, 2010 1:24 pm

    i say, knit 2 together….look at it as practice for decreasing 😀

Leave a Reply

